Chloe Bailey as Betty Boop

Remember that iconic 2021 “Betty Boop” cosplay by Chloe Bailey? In which she did a “Black Betty Boop” cosplay? Well here are some of the photos. Her sister Halle Bailey will be officially portraying Ariel the Little Mermaid for Disney for a 2023 release in which she filmed years earlier. You can read my article on why people should stop the racism and hatred against Halle and support the remake here.

Keep in mind that I use my own brain and have my own opinions and I am not one sided when it comes to being opinionated. So some things I write may or may not offend the sensitive. I say it as I see fit. If you are sensitive it best you unfollow my posts and websites and keep a distance. Though I tell people to support the film, I still make it known how I feel about the Disney company. And I also went into the truth about Hans Christian Andersen and how he probably felt when he created the original book. I know that the truth can hurt people. But it is never good to lie. Stick to facts when making statements.

For 2022 it seems that Chloe had a new look inspired by Betty Boop.

This remake about “Ariel Being Black” has a very similar vibe to the “Betty Boop Is Black” debate that often makes its way around social media. Only difference is “Ariel the Little Mermaid” actually is now officially Black in the 2023 film. When it comes to fictional characters I noticed that “people in general” don’t research and often make false claims. Also they end up “demonizing people” in the process. Sadly I am no longer able to be part of the “demonization of people” who are deceased or have done no wrong. I probably did play a part in demonizing Miss Kane but I realized that the reason I did was because of the hatred of “others” and what they promoted and I realized I never really hated that 1920s singer to begin with. The hatred formed by people on social media is merely based on “people themselves” and their own personal perceptions. If people don’t know right from wrong and like to spread misinformation that is on them. Don’t come directly to me whining. Take that elsewhere.

I support Black content creators and Black visionaries. But if people are going to cosplay at least don’t spread lies. At least tell the actual truth of what went down during the “Betty Boop” creation. Don’t try to make a character Black that was always Caucasian. But there is nothing wrong in Black girls and Black women celebrating Betty Boop or being fans. Racist and hateful Sandy “Karen” Fox who voices Betty Boop with a group of racist individuals who will not be named tried to make it seem as Black girls and Black women couldn’t like a Caucasian character. You can read about the “Karen” drama here.

Thankfully we have people like Chloe Bailey who make a statement that everyone can like Betty Boop including Black girls and Black women.

Bailey doing a classic “Boop-Boop-Be-Doop” pose. She got the garter belt right. The black heels are the alternative “Betty Boop” style, she certainly did her research. These photos are that iconic that I couldn’t help but give them attention. Hopefully they would inspire other girls to cosplay Betty for Halloween 2022.

Chloe Bailey was also giving tribute to Baby Esther Jones. Taraji P. Henson a big movie star and fan of Betty Boop, also did a little Betty Boop tribute for BET in 2021 and she also gave tribute to Josephine Baker and Baby Esther. Wonderful right? And as Mae Questel would say – Boop-Boop-Be-Doop!